Virtual HIV Interfaith Conference

Resilience and Renewal: faith in the HIV response

Session 5 - RENEWAL: RECOMMITTING FAITH TO THE HIV RESPONSE

Thursday, 24 September 2020

6:30 – 8:00 am San Francisco / 9:30 – 11:00 am New York / 3:30 - 5:00 pm Geneva / 4:30 – 6:00 pm Nairobi / 7 – 8:30 pm Mumbai / 8:30 – 10:00 pm Bangkok

The purpose of the session is to look at some challenges posed by HIV nowadays, in particular towards marginalized groups, and to propose actions that faith groups, communities and individuals could take for a better coordinated and more effective HIV response. Through this session, the experiences and perspectives of young people, those living with HIV, and members of marginalized communities disproportionately impacted by HIV, will inform the content and action steps that will emerge from the HIV Interfaith Conference

Music:       

  • M. Ngina, Kenya (INERELA+)

 

Facilitator: Laurel Sprague, Chief, Community Mobilization, Department of Gender, Human Rights and Community Engagement, UNAIDS

Key Note Speech:

His Eminence Cardinal Michael Czerny, SJ, Migrants and Refugees Section, Integral Human Development, Vatican: Resilience & Renewal: Faith in the HIV Response

 

Dialogue on Renewal among members of key populations and vulnerable groups:

  • Brian Otieno, Team Lead, Alfajiri Network, Kenya: HIV, young people and mental health

  • Kunal Kishore, Associate Director at India HIV Aids Alliance: HIV, Harm reduction, and drug control

  • Derrick Malumo, Executive Director, PREO, Prisoner Reintegration and Empowerment Organisation, Zambia: HIV, prisoners & the role of faith

  • Luanne Pata, Executive Director, PATA, The role of faith communities in promoting the rights and wellbeing of children and adolescents

  • Valeria Rachynska, Director of the Department for Work with the Regions, “All- Ukrainian Network of People Living with HIV/AIDS”, Ukraine: Building bridges among Networks of People Living with HIV & Faith Groups

 

Interactive Debate

  • Laurel Sprague, Chief, Community Mobilization, Department of Gender, Human Rights and Community Engagement, UNAIDS

Children's Message:

  • M. Wanjiru, Kenya: Children Against Stigma

Interfaith Prayer - Joint prayer by faith leaders and members of faith communities from different faith traditions & symbolic action

Please click below to access the videos and presentations

Individuals, faith institutions, groups and communities are welcome to the Interfaith Health Platform.

To join the platform, please subscribe to the mailing list.

 

© 2020 Interfaith Health Platform

  • White Facebook Icon

Join the Mailing List