Adolescents & HIV : The role of faith communities in supporting adolescents' prevention, treatment, care and leadership in the HIV response
Side Event to the 76th United Nations General Assembly (UNGA of 76)
Thursday 23 September 2021

Screenshot 2021-09-09 at 08.16.03.png

5:00-6:30 am San Francisco / 8:00-9:30 am New York / 12:00-1:30 pm Dakar /

2:00-3:30 pm Geneva / 3:00-5:30 pm Nairobi / 5:30-7:00 pm Mumbai /

7:00-8:30 pm Bangkok

Virtual – UNAIDS Platform (Zoom) [Passcode: 215263]  + YouTube Live

Interpretation: English, French

Draft Agenda:

Facilitator

  • Wole AMEYAN, Technical Officer, Adolescent HIV, Global HIV, Hepatitis and Sexually Transmitted Infections Programmes, WHO

 

Welcome and opening remarks

  • Dr. Shannon Hader, Deputy Executive Director, Programme, UNAIDS

  • Dr. Angeli Achrekar, Acting U.S Global Aids Coordinator and Special Representative for Global Health Diplomacy, PEPFAR

 

Prayers

  • Michelle Wanjiru, Kenya

 

Setting the Scene

  • Dr. Chewe LUO, Director HIV, UNICEF: Adolescents & HIV in the context of COVID

Music

  • Operation Triple 0 – Rap song

 

Session 1: The challenge in front of us:

  • Franklin Wanyama, EDARP Kenya - Eastern Deanery AIDS Relief Programme

  • Brian Kipchumba, Kenya 

  • Venessia Fernandes, Human Touch, India 

Session 2: Lessons learned:

  • Gladys Mukaratirwa Programme Coordinator at Chiedza Community Based Orphan Welfare: Paediatric and adolescent adherence to ART support groups, Zimbabwe

  • Anthony Mtali Ngwira, Country Programs Coordinator, New Apostolic Church Relief Organization (NACRO): Family Interventions for Adolescent HIV Prevention in Mpamba, Nkhata Bay, Malawi

  • Tiffany Riggleman and Colin Moody, The Luke Commission: Teen Clubs in Eswatini

 

Discussion

Closing and way forward

  • Sandy Thurman, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the US Global AIDS Coordinator and Health Diplomacy, US Department of State

  • Suki Beavers, Director, Gender Equality, Human Rights and Community Engagement, UNAIDS

Prayers

  • Fr. Richard Bauer, Eastern Deanery AIDS Relief Programme (EDARP), Kenya