Webinar : Spirituality, Mental Health and Resilience during the dual pandemics of COVID-19 and HIV

4 February 2021 - 2:30-4:30 pm CET

5:30-7:30 am San Francisco / 8:30-10:30 am New York / 1:30-3:30 pm Dakar /

2:30-4:30 pm Geneva / 4:30-6:30 pm Nairobi / 7:00-9:00 pm Mumbai /

8:30-10:30 pm Bangkok

Virtual – UNAIDS Platform (Zoom) + YouTube Live

Interpretation: English, French, Spanish

Agenda

Facilitators:

  • Laurel Sprague, Chief, Community Mobilization, Department of Gender, Human Rights and Community Engagement, UNAIDS

  • Rev. Dr. William Francis, Atlanta Faith in Action

Overview and Session 1 – Mental Health in the dual pandemics: what spirituality, resilience and a human rights-based approach have to offer?

  • Dainius Pūras, Director, Human Rights Monitoring Institute, Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Vilnius university, former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health: A human rights based approach to mental health

  • Ani Shakarishvili, Special Adviser, Team Lead - Access to Treatment and Care, and Integration, UNAIDS: Mental health and HIV: Mental Health, Substance Use and HIV/AIDS: promoting human rights, an integrated and person-centred approach to improving HIV and health outcomes, well-being and quality of life

  • Rev. Sarah Lund, United Church of Christ Minister for Disabilities and Mental Health Justice: Spiritual Care Tools for Community Mental Health

  • Sabrina T. Cherry, Interdisciplinary Qualitative Studies Certificate, Assistant Professor, Public Health Faculty Fellow, UNCW Center For Social Impact: Impact of Spirituality on Resilience and Coping during the COVID-19 Crisis

 

Session 2 - Best Practices & Lessons Learned Session: HIV & COVID-19

  • Gracia Violeta Ross Quiroga, President of the Bolivian Network of People Living with HIV, Espiritualidad, salud mental y resiliencia en las pandemias de COVID-19 y VIH (Spirituality, Mental Health and Resilience during the dual pandemics)

  • Nkatha Njeru, Coordinator, Africa Christian Health Associations Platform (ACHAP): Best Practices and Lessons Learned - The Case of ACHAP

  • Applesta Da Costa, Program Lead, Psychosocial Support for interventions in mental

    health, Human Touch Foundation, Goa, India, Optimising Health/Non Health Outcomes for Adolescents Living with HIV amid COVID-19

  • Fr Rick Bauer, Director of Spiritual and Psychosocial Support for the Eastern Deanery AIDS Relief program in Nairobi, Kenya: Spirituality, Mental Health and Resilience during the dual pandemics of COVID-19 and HIV: Understandings and practices from EDARP

Individuals, faith institutions, groups and communities are welcome to the Interfaith Health Platform.

To join the platform, please subscribe to the mailing list.

 

© 2020 Interfaith Health Platform

  • White Facebook Icon

Join the Mailing List