Faith2EndAIDS - Side Event to the United Nations High-Level Meeting on Ending AIDS
Monday 7 June 2021

2021_HighLevelMeeting-brochure_en.pdf.pn

7:00-8:30 am San Francisco / 10:00-11:30 am New York / 2:00-3:30 pm Dakar /

4:00-5:30 pm Geneva / 5:00-6:30 pm Nairobi / 7:30-9:00 pm Mumbai /

9:00-10:30 pm Bangkok

Virtual – UNAIDS Platform (Zoom) + YouTube Live

Interpretation: Arabic, English, French, Russian and Spanish

Draft Agenda

Facilitator

  • Rev. Dionne P. Boissiere, Chaplain, the Church Center to the United Nations 

Welcome & Opening Remarks

  • Winnie Byanyima, Executive Director, UNAIDS

  • Angeli Achrekar, Acting U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator, PEPFAR

Key Addresses

  • Reverend Canon Dr Rosemary Mbogo, Provincial Secretary of the Anglican Church of Kenya, on behalf of the Government of Kenya

  • H.E. Ambassador Neville Melvin Gertze, Permanent Representative of Namibia to the UN

Session 1 - Setting the Scene

  • Ahmed Abbadi, Secretary General of the la Rabita Mohammadia of Oulemas, Kingdom of MoroccoKey actions through which Muslim faith leaders, communities and groups can fast-track the HIV response

  • Francesca Merico, UNAIDS-PEPFAR Faith Initiative: Engaging faith groups in the implementation of the Political Declaration

 

Session 2 – Lessons Learned

During this session, FBOs will share promising practices and lessons learned to address stigma and discrimination; promote human rights; and increase access to HIV services:​

  • Fr Richard W. Bauer, MM, BCC, LCSW, Director of Spiritual and Psychosocial Care, EDARP: Reaching men and key populations through HIVST in faith communities & successful models to increase case identification and VL suppression in children

  • Prof Mohamed Karama, PhD Public Health and Epidemiology, Muslim Policy on HIV, Islamic Relief: Ensuring access to HIV services to migrants and refugees while addressing sexual and gender-based violence

 

Discussion

Purpose – identify key actions to support the implementation of the 2021 Political Declaration, including through the 12Million Campaign

Closing & Way Forward

  • Sandy Thurman, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the US Global AIDS Coordinator and Health Diplomacy, US Department of State 

  • Laurel Sprague, Chief, Community Mobilization, Department of Gender, Human Rights and Community Engagement, UNAIDS