Webinar : Migration & HIV in the context of COVID-19

8 April 2021 - 2:00-4:00 pm CET

5:00-7:00 am San Francisco / 8:00-10:00 am New York / 12:00-2:00 pm Dakar /

2:00-4:00 pm Geneva / 3:00-5:00 pm Nairobi / 5:30-7:30 pm Mumbai /

7:00-9:00 pm Bangkok

Virtual – UNAIDS Platform (Zoom) + YouTube Live

Interpretation: English, French, Spanish

Draft Agenda

Facilitator

  • Sandy Thurman, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the US Global AIDS Coordinator and Health Diplomacy, US Department of State 

Opening Session

  • Dr. Carlos VAN DER LAAT,  Migrants Health Assistance Programme Coordinator, Migration Health Division: Overview of migration - situation and challenges - in accessing health services in the context of COVID-19; as well as in accessing COVID-19 mitigation information/tools and care

  • Fr Richard W. Bauer, MM, BCC, LCSW, Director of Spiritual and Psychosocial Care, EDARP Kenya: Welcoming the Stranger: A Response of Faith and Theology

Session 1 – Celebrating and accompanying migrants

  • Paul Jeffrey: A Journey through images – the contribution of faith to address migration challenges and in accompanying migrants (Video – Part 1)

  • Gary Jones, Senior Adviser, Security, Humanitarian and Fragile States: The Road-Map on Migration and HIV and the role of faith

 

Session 2 - Best practices and lessons learned by faith groups in collaboration with other sectors: 1. Prevention; 2. Testing and Treatment; 3. Addressing Stigma and Discrimination; 4. Addressing sexual and gender-based violence

  • Ms. Alyna C. Smith, Senior Advocacy Officer, Health, Justice and Legal Strategies, Platform for International Cooperation on Undocumented Migrants: Undocumented migrants and the realities of their access to health care in Europe, including in the context of COVID-19

  • Prof Mohamed Karama, Islamic Relief: Best practices and lessons learned on addressing GBV and stigma and discrimination in the context of COVID-19

  • Paul Jeffrey: A Journey through images – the contribution of faith to address migration challenges and in accompanying migrants (Video – Part 2)

 

Session 3 – The way forward

Respondents: 

  • Monsignor Robert J Vitillo, Secretary General, International Catholic Migration Commission (ICMC)

 

Closing

  • Dr. Carlos VAN DER LAAT, Migrants Health Assistance Programme Coordinator, Migration Health Division

  • Gary Jones, Senior Adviser, Security, Humanitarian and Fragile States

Individuals, faith institutions, groups and communities are welcome to the Interfaith Health Platform.

To join the platform, please subscribe to the mailing list.

 

© 2020 Interfaith Health Platform

  • White Facebook Icon

Join the Mailing List