Virtual HIV Interfaith Conference

Resilience and Renewal: faith in the HIV response

Session 1 - ENSURING THE PROVISION OF HIV SERVICES DURING COVID-19: BEST PRACTICES by FAITH GROUPS

Tuesday, 22 September 2020

 

7:30 – 9:00 am San Francisco / 10:30 – 12:00 New York / 4:30 – 6:00 pm Geneva / 5:30 – 7:00 pm Nairobi / 8:00 – 09:30 pm Mumbai / 9:30 – 11:00 pm Bangkok

The purpose of the session is to receive an update on COVID-19 and its impact on HIV; to learn about guidelines for religious leaders and faith-based communities on the coronavirus pandemic; to share the latest challenges posed by COVID-19 in the provision of HIV services; and to present best practices by faith care health providers and communities, with particular emphasis to Africa and the role of black church traditions in the United States.

Prayer in Time of COVID-19:


Setting the Scene:
Facilitator: Sarah Hess, Technical Officer, High Impact Events Preparedness, Global Infectious Hazards Preparedness, Emergency Preparedness, WHO EPI WIN: Practical considerations and recommendations for religious leaders and faith-based communities in the context of COVID-19

  • Shannon Hader, Deputy Executive Director, UNAIDS: Human Rights & HIV in time of COVID-19

  • Katy Godfrey, MD FRACP, Senior Technical Advisor HIV Care and Treatment, Office of the Global AIDS Coordinator, Department of State. PEPFAR Technical Guidance in the Context of the COVID-19 Pandemic


Best Practices Session 1: HIV service delivery best practices by FCHPs and faith groups during COVID-19
Facilitator: Sarah Hess Technical Officer, High Impact Events Preparedness, Global Infectious Hazards Preparedness, Emergency Preparedness, WHO EPI WIN

  • Nantongo Josephine Mugume, HIV Coordinator & Paediatrician Kisiizi Hospital, Uganda: Caring and treating HIV+ children in times of COVID-19

  • Phumzile Mndzebele, CDC Eswatini, HIVST in faith communities and by faith leaders during COVID-

 

Video: Faith Leaders: Overcome the Stigma of COVID-19 by Caring, Connecting, and Celebrating, CDC


Q&A session (covering Setting the Scene & Best Practices Session 1)
Facilitator: Sarah Hess, Technical Officer, High Impact Events Preparedness, Global
Infectious Hazards Preparedness, Emergency Preparedness, WHO EPI WIN.

The facilitator will facilitate the Q&A session, introduce and moderate the Best Practices Session 2


Best Practices Session 2: The panelists will speak about progress and limitations of faith-based efforts to address HIV in the U.S, including during COVID-19. They will focus on challenges and opportunities. The speakers represent the research and community engagement efforts of U.S. universities to partner with Black Church Traditions in the U.S.


“Nothing About Us Without Us:” The Challenges in Listening to Those Most Affected When Responding to HIV and to COVID :

  • Eddie Jackson, Program Manager for Community Engagement at the Center for AIDS Research, University of Alabama Birmingham

  • Reverend Kimberly Jackson, Episcopal priest and co-facilitator Sacred Voices: Black Gay Men’s Religious and Spiritual Perspectives, Emory University

  • Justin Smith, Director of the Campaign to End AIDS and co-facilitator of Sacred Voices


Q&A session (Covering Setting the Scene and Best Practices Session 2)
Facilitator: Sarah Hess, Technical Officer, High Impact Events Preparedness, Global Infectious Hazards Preparedness, Emergency Preparedness, WHO EPI WIN


Prayer in Time of COVID-19:

  • M. Wanjiru, Kenya

Please click below to access the videos and presentations

Individuals, faith institutions, groups and communities are welcome to the Interfaith Health Platform.

To join the platform, please subscribe to the mailing list.

 

© 2020 Interfaith Health Platform

  • White Facebook Icon

Join the Mailing List