Virtual HIV Interfaith Conference

Resilience and Renewal: faith in the HIV response

Session 3 - AIDS 2020 HIGHLIGHTS WITH A FAITH PERSPECTIVE

Wednesday, 23 September 2020

6:30 – 8:00 am San Francisco / 9:30 – 11:00 am New York / 3:30 - 5:00 pm Geneva / 4:30 – 6:00 pm Nairobi / 7 – 8:30 pm Mumbai / 8:30 – 10:00 pm Bangkok

The purpose of the session is to share and examine key findings from AIDS 2020 from which faith groups and communities could benefit in their activities.

 

Facilitator: Rev Aquarius Gilmer

 

Prayer on Resilience & Celebrating Progress:

 

  • George S. Kerr III, Founder/CEO G III Associates. Co-Moderator for The Presbyterian HIV Network (PHIVN) PHEWA, Presbyterian Church, USA

Music:

  • Children and Youth Choir, Abundant Life Family Chapel - Jacaranda Choir - Twashukuru

Presentation:

  • Mary Mahy, ScD, MHSc Team Lead, Epidemiology, UNAIDS - Strategic Information Department: Status of the AIDS Epidemic in 2020

 

Music:

  • Ambassador David and Mwangaza Youth Fellowship

Presentation:

  • Ulysses Burley III, Founder UBtheCURE LLC: What faith groups can learn from the science, research and information presented at AIDS 2020? -  Key findings from AIDS 2020, Status, Scientific Update and Social Dynamics of the AIDS epidemic

Music:

  • Children and Youth Choir, Abundant Life Family Chapel - Jacaranda Choir - Twashukuru

Presentation:

  • Renatta Langlais, YPlusGlobal, My vision to better address HIV together with “positive faiths in action” - Perspective and takes from AIDS 2020 and recommendations by a young positive woman to faith groups and leaders

 

Prayer - Celebrating progress and recommitting to HIV:

 

Highlights and Recommendations of Session 3:

Please click below to access the videos and presentations

Individuals, faith institutions, groups and communities are welcome to the Interfaith Health Platform.

To join the platform, please subscribe to the mailing list.

 

© 2020 Interfaith Health Platform

  • White Facebook Icon

Join the Mailing List