Virtual HIV Interfaith Conference

Resilience and Renewal: faith in the HIV response

Session 2 - STORIES OF RESILIENCE

Tuesday, 22 September 2020

9:00 – 10:00 am San Francisco / 12:00 – 1:00 pm New York / 6:00 – 7:00 pm Geneva / 7:00 – 8:00 pm Nairobi / 9:30 – 10:30 pm Mumbai / 11:00 – 12:00 pm Bangkok

The purpose of the session is to describe key recommendations for a greater faith engagement to address HIV. This will be done as participants celebrate and get inspired by committed and passionate people engaged in the HIV response, learning from their experience and journey.

Facilitator: Rev Aquarius Gilmer

 

Stories of Resilience:

In a Dialogue Format, the speakers will share their personal experience and journey inspiring participants to recommit to a holistic, comprehensive response to HIV that acknowledges the innate dignity of every human person.

 

  • Rev. Christo Greyling, Senior Director – Faith and External Engagement, World Vision International, South Africa/The Netherlands - on the value of multireligious collaboration

  • Nyaradzayi Gumbonzvanda, Founder and Chief Executive of Rozaria Memorial Trust and African Union Goodwill Ambassador on Ending Child Marriage, former General Secretary World YWCA - on addressing sexual violence & Ending Child Marriage, Zimbabwe

  • Nukshinaro Ao (Naro), Vice President of Nagaland Users Network, Nagaland, India - on drug users, HIV and faith

  • Waheedah Shabazz-EL, The Unity Mosque, Toronto Canada, Community Organizer/Trainer, Faith & HIV Consultant, Positive Women's Network-USA founding member, The Reunion Project, Prevention Access Campaign, U=U, AIDS Law Project of PA,  Philadelphia FIGHT Goodwill Ambassador.

  • Sr Dee Smith, Maryknoll Missionary, Guatemala - on resilience in faith communities – HIV, TB & COVID-19

  • Prashant Sharma, Community Activist working on HIV, Hepatitis, TB, drug use – on Community Resilience in the HIV response.

 

Interactive session:

  • Rev Aquarius Gilmer will facilitate an interactive discussion among the speakers and participants

 

Messages from Children:

  • Child message

Music:

  • M Ngina, Kenya

Please click below to access the videos and presentations

Individuals, faith institutions, groups and communities are welcome to the Interfaith Health Platform.

To join the platform, please subscribe to the mailing list.

 

© 2020 Interfaith Health Platform

  • White Facebook Icon

Join the Mailing List