Virtual HIV Interfaith Conference

Resilience and Renewal: faith in the HIV response

CLOSING SESSION

Thursday, 24 September 2020

9:00 – 10:00 am San Francisco / 12:00 am – 1:00 pm New York / 6:00 – 7:00 pm Geneva / 7:00 – 8:00 pm Nairobi / 9:30 – 10:30 pm Mumbai / 11:00 – 12:00 pm Bangkok

Children's Message:

  • Child, Kenya (INERELA+)

THE WAY FORWARD

The purpose of the session is to launch the Interfaith Health Platform, a multi-religious collaborative space for capacity building, awareness raising and joint advocacy among faith groups, organisations and communities engaged in HIV and AIDS. During this session, the outcome documents of the HIV Interfaith Conference, Our Promise to Action & Commitments to Action, will be presented and discussed with the participants. Finally, the way forward session will be the opportunity to launch THE 13 MILLION CAMPAIGN – which aims at promoting access to treatment, retention and viral load suppression for the 13 million children women and men living with HIV who are not yet on HIV treatment.

  • Francesca Merico, Technical Support, Faith Engagement, UNAIDS-PEPFAR Faith Initiative: Overview of conference outcomes documents.

Facilitator: Rev Aquarius Gilmer

 

Interactive Dialogue on Commitment to Action, Plan of Action and Virtual Platform for faith-spiritual leaders, communities and FBOs

 

 

Prayers – Renewal & the Urgency to Act: 

  • Abdul Azeez, Resident Imam of Al Masjidu Adam Community life Center for Human Excellence, President of Ash Shifaa inc Executive Board of CWSC community wide shura Conference, Director of the CWSC NLAC National Leadership Advisory Council, and Director of the CWSC's Ambassador Program 

  • Rabbi Denise Eger, Congregation Kol Ami, Past President, Central Conference of American Rabbis 

  • Esther Mombo, Professor, St Paul University, Kenya

 

Closing remarks:

  • Shannon Hader, Deputy Executive Director, UNAIDS

  • Sandra Thurman, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the US Global AIDS Coordinator and Health Diplomacy, US Department of State (Washington, DC, USA)

  • Monsignor Robert J. Vitillo, Secretary General, International Catholic Migration Commission (ICMC); Health Attaché, Permanent Observer Mission of the Holy See at the United Nations and other International Organizations (Geneva), Switzerland

 

Music & Dance:

  • SIYAHAMBA, Angel City Choral (Los Angeles, USA), Amy Foundation Choir (Cape town, South Africa), Richard Sibakhulu Mbovane (Conductor)

Please click below to access the videos and presentations

Individuals, faith institutions, groups and communities are welcome to the Interfaith Health Platform.

To join the platform, please subscribe to the mailing list.

 

© 2020 Interfaith Health Platform

  • White Facebook Icon

Join the Mailing List